2007 Donruss Elite Extra Edition Product Review

BY: T.C.

I’ve opened a couple of boxes of this product now and have been quite impressed (although I am a sucker for any prospect-based baseball set).  The packs are a lot of fun to open, as they have generously inserted the autograph/memorabilia cards.  They put a nice mix of baseball prospects and college player and coaching”legends” from various sports, including basketball, lacrosse, soccer, swimming, and football.  Officially, you are supposed to get 4 “hits” per box (either auto or memorabilia).  In the first box, I got 5 autographs, including Will Middlebrooks (#/25), Nick Schmidt (#/409), and Jason Heyward (#/750) and auto patch cards of J.P. Arencibia (#/249) and Nick Schmidt (#/250).

I was lucky enough to run into a “hot box” when I opened the second box.  While I didn’t pull a patch auto, I did manage to pull 6 autos, 1 auto redemption, and 3 jersey cards.  My autographs included: Summer Sanders (#/169), Austin Gallagher (#/500), Bradley Suttle (#/100), Brian Rike (#/500), Justin Jackson (#/850), and Chris Withrow (#/168).  My jersey cards were of Kellen Kulbacki, Matt Mangini, and Nick Schmidt.

2007 Donruss Elite Extra Edition

 All in all, I’m a big fan of this product.  I will definitely buy a couple of more boxes and see what autographs I can pull.  I’ll be using the rest of the singles to send out and try to get some autographs through mail requests.  The only downside of the product is that you don’t really know how good your pulls are until you can see how the prospects pan out in the next few years.  On the Sportsgeekly rating scale, this product gets an 8 out of 10.

0 Responses to “2007 Donruss Elite Extra Edition Product Review”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

