2007 Donruss Americana Review

BY: T.C.

From time to time, my wife shares in my addiction of sports cards because she enjoys opening up packs with me.  Although she usually doesn’t know 90% of the players that she’s looking at, she still has fun looking for the elusive autograph and memorabilia cards.  When I saw the Donruss Americana product, I thought it would be a perfect way for her to have fun opening some packs and seeing people she’s actually heard of.  I bought her a box of Donruss Americana today and had high expectations.  On the Donruss website, they tout their new product with the following quote: “With the release of Americana, Donruss seamlessly taps into the world of Hollywood and pop culture to create a one-of-a-kind release that succinctly captures the flavor of our rich and storied show biz history. With an unrivaled entertainment trading card portfolio built over 40 years, only Donruss is uniquely qualified to present this stuning lineup of celebrity icons.”

Well, after cracking the box, I guess you could say that they succinctly captured the flavor of our rich and storied show biz history…as long as that history is primarily focused on B-list celebs, half of whom my wife and I have never even heard of.  After plunking down well over a hundred dollars for a box containing 4 packs, I was extremely disappointed when I looked over what my investment had brought us. 

There are way too many crappy pseudo-celebrities stuck in this product for them to tout it as anything more than a simple novelty product.  We thumbed through such “famous” people as Martin Klebba, Michael Pare’, Walter Koenig, and Cindy Morgan (whose apparent claim to fame is being in an Irish Spring commercial).

For the most part, the inserts were equally un-awe-inspiring.  The inserts were as follows: Lillian Gish Hollywood Legends (313/500), Josh Duhamel Cinema Stars (134/500), Cindy Morgan Proof (54/250), Neil Patrick Harris Proof (112/250), Michael Pare’ autograph (1111/1250), Katey Sagal (Married with Children) blouse (249/250), and the lone bright spots…Larry Hagman material (25/50), and Marlon Brando pants (307/325).

Americana

If I threw all of this garbage on eBay, I probably wouldn’t get half of what I spent on it.  I know that cracking packs should never be looked at as an investment, but this product just blows.  I would have been better off buying my wife a blaster box of this crap for 19.99.  It would have had the same novelty effect and would have been about 7 times cheaper!  On the Sportsgeekly rating scale, this product gets a 3 out of 10.

7 Responses to “2007 Donruss Americana Review”


  1. 1 dreamcatcher February 3, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Hey, sorry you were disappointed, but you don’t have to be an “A” movie star to have loyal fans. Just because someone doesn’t make 10 mil for a movie does not mean they are not talented and a great role model.

  2. 2 tcismenotu February 3, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    I understand your opinion, but disagree with your point. The lady that lives next door to me is really nice and a good role model, too. Vance Wilson from the Tigers is a great role model and has loyal fans. Having said that, I wouldn’t pay $140 for a chance to get either one of their autographs on a piece of cardboard. When I plunk down that kind of money, I want to get at least SOME return on my investment…not an autograph of someone I’ve never heard of.

  3. 3 Kimberly April 20, 2008 at 11:53 am

    I definitely agree with tcismenotu. I am a seller of many different cards on ebay and on our website. The 2007 Donruss Americana Cards that came out were the worst set I have seen in a long time. The cost of the boxes were outrageous for the product inside. I bought several boxes with the same results. Crap! I will never buy from them again. They talked up their product and then released horrible cards. They must have made a killing on these cards.

  4. 4 Lynda June 1, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Well, goes to show you how truly stupid you are not to know that Cindy Morgan is famous for many parts and is very famous for being Lacey Underall, the femme fatale of Biblical proportions in the VERY FAMOUS movie “Caddyshack” She was the female lead in what has been rated by as one of the top 10 R: rated comedys of all time. She also starred in Disneys “TRON” playing the dual role of Yuri and Lori…the first ever movie to use computer generated special effects and is now a cult film that Disney is planning a sequel to film this year. Ms Morgan was also the female lead in this movie. She appeared on Falcon Crest for 17 episodes, guest starred on Hunter, Matlock, Crazy Like A Fox, THe Fall Guy, The SHaggy Dog 2, and way too many others to name…perhaps you should look her up on IMDB before rating her with (whose apparent claim to fame is being in an Irish Spring Commercial” and calling her a B list celebrity. Yes, she was the Irish Spring girl…but sooo much more as well. Many men would take great offense at your comments about this felame icon. Your comments don’t even rate a “B” list!

  5. 5 tcismenotu June 2, 2008 at 8:17 am

    Actually, Lynda, the back of the card doesn’t list any of that information about her. All it mentions is her Irish Spring commercial. So if you want to call someone stupid, call Donruss stupid. This just proves my point even more about the product sucking.

    Also, me not knowing a 1980’s B-list celebrity’s resume doesn’t make me stupid. The only thing that you mentioned of any relevance in your rant was Caddyshack. And nobody remembers that movie because of her. They remember it because of Chevy Chase, Bill Murray, and Rodney Dangerfield.

    My take on your comment: the fact that you know all this information about Cindy Morgan just makes you old.

  6. 6 Lynda June 10, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    You must be kidding…not old…only more intelligent than you are…no need to know Cindy’s resume to know about Lacey Underall…but, yes, I agree that Donruss was stupid because they didn’t use the most relevant fact about Cindy Morgan on their card. Also the photo of Cindy did not show her as the beauty she is today…just visit her webiste or her myspace page to see what she really looks like today. Ask most hot blooded American straight men across the past 3 generations who Lacey Underall is and you can bet they remember her just as well as they do the male comedians of that movie. Have you actually seen Caddyshack?

  7. 7 Will Entrekin June 22, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    Thanks for this review; I came this close to picking up a box because I was suckered by the gimmick.

    And am I the only one who was completely surprised to find that Cindy Morgan’s real name wasn’t Lynda? But seriously, yeah, man, how could you forget Shaggy Dog 2!? Shaggy Dog 2!?

    Hey, everybody needs to eat, right?


Leave a Reply

