Getting Autographs at Toledo Mudhens Games

By: T.C.

It’s been awhile since my last post.  I’ve been quite busy with a bunch of through-the-mail (TTM) requests, filing all of the autographs from spring training, and trying to ‘graph at a few Tigers games and minor league games.  Speaking of minor league games, I thought I’d start sharing some of my experiences from the various minor league games that I attend this season. 

Fifth Third Stadium in Toledo is one that I try to make it down to at least 4 or 5 times every summer.  The stadium is fantastic (one of the nicest minor league parks that I’ve been to) and the baseball is usually very high quality.  Most of the teams that come through have a couple of highly regarded prospects who are fun to chase for autographs.  This past Sunday, I went down to see the Mudhens play the Louisville Bats (Cincinnati Reds affiliate).  Gates open one hour before gametime, so I generally try to arrive a few minutes before that.  Once in the stadium, I head over to the visitors’ dugout to try and grab some ‘graphs as players come out to warm up before the game.  See the image below for a detailed picture of all the autograph areas:

Autographs Areas in Toledo

After the game, I usually head outside to try and grab ‘graphs from some of the guys as they are leaving the ballpark.  The picture above also details the areas you’ll want to go to for both Mudhens and visiting players.

On this particular day, I did very well.  I ended up with 34 autographs from the following players:

Justin Lehr, 2 cards

Gary Majewski, 3 cards

Adam Pettyjohn, 2 cards

Tom Shearn, 2 cards

Tyler Pelland, 2 cards

Jerry Hairston, Jr., 3 cards

Chris Dickerson, 1 card

Alvin Colina, 3 cards

Jolbert Cabrera, 2 cards

Jay Bruce, 5 cards, 1 baseball

Homer Bailey, 1 card, 1 baseball (side panel)

Scott Saurbeck, 2 cards

Andy Green, 1 card

Ted Power, 2 cards

Curtis Granderson, 1 ball

One highlight was Jay Bruce signing everything in sight.  He did 5 cards for me, and probably would have signed even more if I had them.  He also signed and personalized the sweet spot of a ball for me (he will usually only sign sweet spot if he personalizes, otherwise it’s side panel under the logo).  Another highlight, and somewhat of a surprise was the fact that Homer Bailey signed for a bunch of folks as he was getting on the bus after the game.  I managed to get a ball signed by him and I finally got his 2006 TriStar Prospects Plus card signed, bringing my total for that set to 86 of the 100 cards signed…only 14 more to go!

2 Responses to “Getting Autographs at Toledo Mudhens Games”


  1. 1 Dan April 30, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Hey,

    Good guide! I was at this game in Toledo and did good as well.

  2. 2 Ryan (from Cleveland Ohio) June 19, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    Hey……… You came up on the Jay Bruce autos…. Great job on the
    Granderson too.


Leave a Reply

