Charleston RiverDogs @ Lexington Legends (5/13/09)

BY: T.C.

I had to go down to Kentucky for a wedding, so I decided to leave early to check out this game.  I was excited to see Charleston because of all of the guys that had major-issue cards on their team…not to mention Andrew Brackman, who was one of the last 3 guys I needed to complete my 2007 TriStar Prospects Plus set.  Another reason I was excited was to see Pat Venditte, the pitcher that throws with both hands.

The game didn’t disappoint, as Hector Noesi threw a no-hitter through 7 innings.  In the 8th, Charleston brought in Casey Erickson and he retired the side 1-2-3.  That set the stage for a no-hitter going into the 9th inning!  To make things even better, Venditte entered the game.  Pat retired the first batter, but disaster struck with one out in the ninth.  Ronald Ramirez, Lexington’s shortstop that is batting less than .200 took Pat deep for a home run.  DAMN IT!  Pat went on to get the next two outs without allowing a hit, so I got to see a one-hitter.

Before the game, I was able to ‘graph both teams with the help of my wife, my brother, and his girlfriend.  I ended up with quite a haul!  Here are my totals for the day:

Lexington:

  • Jay Austin, 9/9
  • Tom Lawless, 5/5
  • Jordan Lyles, 5/5
  • Ross Seaton, 5/5

Charleston:

  • Mitch Abieta, 8/8
  • David Adams, 8/8Abraham Almonte, 1/6, 1/6 (only one per)
  • Carmen Angelini, 4/9, 3/9
  • Andrew Brackman, 9/9, 6/6
  • Dan Brewer, 5/5
  • Brandon Braboy, 3/3
  • Pat Venditte, 5/5, 1/1 (Signed 3 cards, his ESPN the mag article, and a baseball on the sweet spot with both hands)
  • Taylor Grote, 9/9, 9/9
  • Corban Joseph, 7/7
  • Mike Abiso, 3/3
  • Mike Lyon, 5/5
  • Brett Marshall, 7/7
  • David Phelps, 3/3
  • Chase Weems, 1/1
0 Responses to “Charleston RiverDogs @ Lexington Legends (5/13/09)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

